Being arrested for a DUI in Florida is a serious matter. It can result in a criminal conviction, which can lead to jail time, fines, and other penalties. It can also have a significant impact on your personal and professional life.
In the aftermath of a DUI arrest, it is important to make wise decisions.
Here are 10 common mistakes that people make after being arrested for a DUI in Florida:
1. Not hiring an attorney. A DUI attorney can help you understand your rights and options, and they can represent you in court. A DUI conviction can have a serious impact on your life, so it is important to have an attorney on your side to fight for you.
2. Admitting guilt. Anything you say to the police after being arrested can be used against you in court. It is important to exercise your right to remain silent and to speak to an attorney before saying anything.
3. Refusing to take a breathalyzer test. Refusing to take a breathalyzer test can result in a separate criminal charge, and it can also make it more difficult to defend your DUI case.
4. Driving without a license. After a DUI arrest, your license will be suspended. It is illegal to drive with a suspended license, and doing so can result in additional criminal charges.
5. Not showing up for court. If you miss a court date, a bench warrant will be issued for your arrest. This means that you can be arrested and jailed until you appear in court.
6. Not complying with the terms of your probation. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be placed on probation. It is important to comply with all of the terms of your probation, such as attending DUI school and submitting to random drug and alcohol testing.
7. Not paying your fines and court costs. If you are convicted of a DUI, you will be ordered to pay fines and court costs. It is important to pay these fines and costs on time to avoid additional penalties, such as a suspended driver’s license or jail time.
8. Not installing an ignition interlock device. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device prevents you from starting your car if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above a certain level.
9. Not taking steps to address your alcohol or drug problem. If you have a drinking or drug problem, it is important to get help. There are many resources available to help you overcome your addiction.
10. Not learning from your mistake. A DUI arrest is a serious wake-up call. It is important to learn from your mistake and to make changes to your life so that you do not make the same mistake again.
5 Best DUI Lawyers in Florida
Florida DUI Statistics
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, there were over 29,000 DUI arrests in Florida in 2022. That means there was a DUI arrest every 18 minutes.
The average BAC for DUI drivers in Florida is .17, which is more than twice the legal limit of .08.
Florida DUI Laws
Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. A first-time DUI conviction in Florida can result in a jail sentence of up to six months, a fine of up to $1,000, and a license suspension of up to six months.
A second DUI conviction in Florida can result in a jail sentence of up to nine months, a fine of up to $2,000, and a license suspension of up to five years.
A third DUI conviction in Florida is a felony, and it can result in a jail sentence of up to five years, a fine of up to $5,000, and a permanent license revocation.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Florida, it is important to contact an experienced DUI attorney to discuss your case.